Holding nothing back…

Fat chick on a bike…

Posted on: November 14, 2008

About a month ago, DH and I bought a 2003 Suzuki Intruder Volusia. Yes, a stinking motorcycle! LOL He gave up his motorcycles 16 years ago when we had our oldest, and promptly regretted it. I promised him that “one of these days” when the kids were older, we’d get him another motorcycle. Over the past 16 years, his taste in bikes has changed, thank goodness, from crotch rockets to cruisers so that’s what we got.

And if I’m being TOTALLY honest, I’m enjoying the hell out of riding with him! It’s just so much fun to get on the bike and ride out to the lake for an afternoon, or find some country backroad to ride down, or just get on the highway and cruise. We aren’t going that fast, in fact we’re going slower than we would in the car, so I can’t say it’s the speed. I always braid my hair and wear a helmet, so it’s not the “wind in my hair” or whatever. I just don’t know.

The biggest side effect of riding has been in MY attitude towards MYSELF, which makes absolutely no sense to me whatsoever. Since we got the bike, I carry myself a little taller, I look people in the eye and smile more, I’m more confident. I can’t explain it. Why on earth would something like a motorcycle, that I’m not even driving, change the way I feel about myself?!?

Whatever it is, I’m liking it on a bunch of different levels. The motorcycle is here to stay, and I just might get one all to myself in the spring. Why the hell not?

Oh, and here’s the bike =c)

2 Responses to "Fat chick on a bike…"

Aw man! I’m jealous! I wanna be a biker bitch! 😉

I can’t wait for spring so we can get back out on the bike. I have never “done” cold weather well, so riding when it’s 40 outside is just totally out of the question. LOL

Leave a Reply

