Holding nothing back…

I feel…

Posted on: November 5, 2008

I feel… HOPE. After 8 years of crap, of politics as usual, of “I’ve got mine, who gives a crap if you get yours” policies, I HOPE.

I hope that the racial divides are finally truly closing. I know that they aren’t totally behind us. I know that there will probably always be some asshat out there that believes that he is better than someone else simply because of where his ancestors came from. But today I HOPE that we are finally coming to that promised land that Rev. King spoke of where people are judged by the content of their character instead of the color of their skin.

I hope that this recession we are in will begin to turn around. For 8 years, I’ve watched my husbands net pay consistently go down, even as his hourly wage went up. I’ve watched the value of our dollar go down and down and down, swirling the bottom of the bowl, even as prices for the necessities of life skyrocketed. I’ve watched a budget surplus turn into mind-boggling debt. But today I HOPE that things will begin to improve.

I hope. Words I haven’t been able to say, honestly, about our government for 8 years.

I still find myself randomly breaking into laughter and tears. As I read Kate’s post, as I read Chrissy’s post, as I read fashionablenerd’s post, as I explained the importance of this historic election to my son who was just too tired to stay up to see the results come in, when that image in my mind of the young woman at Spellman College falling to her knees and crying pops into my brain, when I was explaining to my children why Rev. Jackson and Oprah had tears on their cheeks last night, as I explained to them the significance of President-elect Obama’s speech… I teared up.

In the words of President-elect Obama:

The road ahead will be long. Our climb will be steep. We may not get there in one year or even in one term. But, America, I have never been more hopeful than I am tonight that we will get there.

 

I promise you, we as a people will get there.

For the first time in a long time, I believe once again that all things are possible in America, and I am hopeful.

1 Response to "I feel…"

Leave a Reply

