Holding nothing back…

Surgery is scheduled.

Posted on: August 25, 2008

Thankfully, the biopsy came back negative, so the cancer scare is over!  Because of my family history, we’ve decided that it’s in my best interest to go on and do a hysterectomy.  It is scheduled for Sept 10.  Just before my birthday.  Nice.

DH has vacation time available so he’s going to take a week off of work, and my Mom offered to come down and help if I need it.  At least I won’t be going through this alone!

Everyone tells me that recovery won’t be NEARLY as bad as you would usually expect for surgery, so I’m trying not to stress myself out over it.  Easier said than done some days, but I’m trying.

1 Response to "Surgery is scheduled."

I had a hysto at 34 to deal with a precancerous condition. You really do recover pretty quickly. They’ll make you get up and walk around by pretty much the next morning. Walking is your friend. Having abdominal surgery does give you some uncomfortable gas (not trying to be crude, just informative) and walking eases the discomfort considerably. Rest, take care of yourself, don’t overdo and you’ll be just fine. Particularly if you’ve had some problems for awhile, you’ll feel better a LOT faster than you think. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

