Holding nothing back…

Update on doctor’s visit…

Posted on: April 30, 2008

Got the results of my blood tests the other day.  Everything was within normal limits!  =c)  This is HUGE considering that my cholesterol has been high for some time now, despite a strict low-fat, low-cholesterol diet.  Keep in mind that my maternal grandfather had high cholesterol (and 13 heart attacks and 3 strokes caused by said high cholesterol), my paternal grandfather takes meds for high cholesterol and has had a bypass surgery, and both of my parents take meds for high cholesterol (and Mom has several stents because of it). 

I’m thrilled!  I had finally given in and let my doctor prescribe lovastatin, because it had become obvious that diet and exercise were NOT going to change my cholesterol levels any.  I was really scared that it was going to take ridiculous amounts to get it lowered, but the dosage she started me out at worked perfectly.

I’m still eating mainly a low-fat, low-cholesterol diet.  I’m still walking every day, weather permitting.  DH is talking about trying to make room in the house for the treadmill that currently resides in our garage so that I can “walk” on days when the weather is nasty. 

At the same time, if my body is just CRAVING eggs, which are *really* high in cholesterol, I’ll eat eggs (usually I have to go to a restaraunt to get them, but hey!  I don’t have to do dishes that way LOL).  If I want a hamburger, I’ll have a hamburger.  But I’ve discovered that I don’t really want those things very much.  Maybe once a month I’ll want eggs (last night was one of those times, actually).  Maybe once a week I’ll want beef instead of chicken or fish.  I’ve discovered that I really LIKE chicken, cooked any number of ways.  And I’ve rediscovered my love for seafood!  There are so many different types of fish out there that I had never tried, and each one of them has a bit of a different texture and flavor.  I was raised on cornmeal-breaded-and-deep-fat-fried catfish as a staple, so imagine my surprise when I discovered that my favorite way to eat catfish is actually grilled with just a light sprinkling of organic no-salt seasoning (Kirkland brand from Costco) and a little fresh cracked pepper! 

Yeah, I wish I could have just gotten my cholesterol down with diet and exercise, and all the gods know that I tried my best.  With my family genetics, I guess it just wasn’t meant to be.  So I’ll take the medicine my doctor has prescribed, and continue to eat low-fat, low-cholesterol and to exercise because I definitely FEEL better for it. 

1 Response to "Update on doctor’s visit…"

Leave a Reply

