Holding nothing back…

“Foster” kid…

Posted on: January 30, 2008

Sunday evening about 8pm, my phone rings.  I don’t recognize the number, but it’s a local area code and I *am* on the board of our homeschool association, so I figured I had better go on and answer it.  The female voice on the other end of the line was *hysterical*!!  So much so that I literally did not recognize who it was and for a minute thought it was a wrong number.  Then she said *something* semi-coherently and I realized:  It’s my oldest daughter’s BEST FRIEND!!!  At this point, I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that something catastrophic has happened, but still don’t know what yet.

I finally get her calmed down enough that I can understand what she is saying, only to find out that her father apparently lost his damn mind and assaulted her!!!!  Granted, I can understand his being angry with her after she *cussed* at him, but this was unreasonable and inappropriate.  He pulled her shoulder out of socket and messed up her leg (that she had injured in a car wreck a couple of months ago).  I cannot even begin to tell you how infuriated DH and I were!!!  We’d have been furious and saddened to hear of *ANY* kid being assaulted by her father, but *THIS* kid?!?!  She’s an absolutely AMAZING kid, intelligent, beautiful, respectful, talented…  Just amazing.  We’ve known her since she was 8 (as DH says, “since she was barely a popcorn fart” LOL), and anyone that has spent any time around her at all cannot help loving her. 

We went and picked her up, and brought her to our house.  Because we believe this to be an isolated incident, we haven’t called CPS yet.  As long as her parents get help, we won’t.  He has to get anger management counselling and see a psychiatrist to get back on the medications he needs to help him.  If he won’t get the help he needs, then she needs to kick him to the curb.  Otherwise we’ll have no choice but to get CPS involved.

While he gets the help he needs, we have temporary guardianship of their daughter.  For now we are saying 90 days.  If it needs to go longer than that we can reevaluate.  If we have to go to court to make it permanent, we will.  But we will NOT allow her to be abused. 

So far, he’s following through.  He went to the doctor yesterday and got back on some medications he had gone off of.  He’s still saying “If she had just done what I TOLD her, this wouldn’t have happened,” though.  Excuse me?!?!?  She’s a 14-year-old child!  It was not up to HER to diffuse the situation!  You’re the ADULT in the situation, ACT LIKE IT!!! 

But at least getting back on his medication is progress.  Hopefully once it has time to get back into his system, he’ll be thinking more clearly and realize that no matter what his daughter had done, his reaction was inappropriate.  One step at a time.

Seems like it’s constant drama in my life.  One of my lifelong friends told me that we need new friends.  I’m beginning to think she’s right.  LOL  We seem to attract those who are “broken” somehow.

Pet~

Leave a Reply

